A quick nugget

I generally eschew addons because I dislike having to maintain them and I just dread having one of them cause a problem that in turn causes me to delay a raid while I reload my UI or figure out what’s going on. I hate that. As well, in almost every case there’s an aspect of the native UI that just goes unused to its potential and most addons, it seems to me in my biased curmudgeonly view, aren’t necessary or can be duplicated with a macro.

But once in a great while…

Alyxx

Alyxx

Fellow mage and full-time gnome Alyxx (shown right imploring me to try at least one damned addon and not to live in a cave my entire life) turned me on to Mage Nuggets, a rare addon that is quantifiably useful and doesn’t duplicate extant UI.

The most useful feature is that when you’ve targeted a monster who has an effect that you can Spell Steal, it will inform you of this by opening a window listing the effect that can be stolen.

Because of this I’m finding spells I can steal all over the place, on creatures I would have never thought to consider otherwise. Good job, Mage Nuggets!

It has ancillary features you can of course see for yourself—including fairly useless ones that border on annoying—but until I find a different addon whose sole function is to alert me of stealable spells, I’ll keep Mage Nuggets.

About Administrator

Geek. (But so are you!)

Posted on January 20, 2010, in World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well, the default UI provides a subtle, flickering line around the buff that mages can spellsteal (I think? Or is that one of my own UI additions?), but an obvious popup is pretty awesome! Spellstealing is SO much fun! And yay for a mage blog!

  2. Ha! I choose that pose last night. What she’s really doing is reminding mages that Blizzard is a privilege, not a right.

    I think the default UI does add some sort of glow to the unit frames? Or maybe to the buff? Obviously, I’ve never noticed it before, hence my undying love of Mage Nuggets.

    P.S. Hooray for more mage blogs!

Leave a Reply

