New thinking about the Bloodmage Regalia

So have a look at the “tier 10” set for mages, the Bloodmage Regalia:

Bloodmage Regalia image courtesy WoWWiki

By far the worst looking mage outfit in the history of World of Warcraft. Simply awful. The stats and bonuses are nice, no doubt about that. I just don’t want to be seen looking like the arch villain from a baboon’s meth-fueled nightmare. P.S. Chains? Really? Chains?

But recently I’ve had a slow-burning epiphany about this set, and now, believe it or not, I think I wouldn’t mind putting it on. The reason is encapsulated in this screenshot I took just last night:

Waiting for ToC 25 to resume

Everyone looks alike. We all have the same capes (the fellow on the left is a druid and even he’s using it), the same shoulders, and all of us are using Seethe from the Frozen Halls or the Glinting Azuresong Mageblade from Onyxia. If I were wearing the godawful Bloodmage Regalia, I would at least stand out.

So I guess I have a “better to rule in hell” outlook on the awful visage that is the Bloodmage Regalia. The next item I get will be the Bloodmage Shoulderpads so I can enjoy the two-piece bonus. As an ancillary benefit, if one may call it that, I will look somewhat distinctive. Just not the right kind of distinctive.

How soon until the “tier 11” set comes out?

By the way, what was the best looking set? Easy. It’s the Magister’s Regalia:

Magister's Regalia image courtesy WoWHead.com

This was the first set I collected—and the last. Until now I haven’t been in a guild that was able to allow me to get tier pieces. This guild plus the emblem system of getting gear has finally allowed me to collect. (Imagine my dismay when I discovered what it looked like.) Anyway, I adore Magister’s not for sentimental reasons but because of how it looks. If you’re going to look like a mage—then look like a mage complete with an appropriate Dr. Strange headpiece.

That says “mage” more than chains do, don’t you think?

About Administrator

Geek. (But so are you!)

Posted on January 25, 2010, in World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG! I forgot how ugly the T10 is. So very ugly. It gives everyone birthing hips.

    (I am, of course, hording my emblems for the shoulders and gloves.)

    As a side note, I wish there was a way to not show the shoulder pieces, like you can with the cloak and helm. When I pop into Dal, the shoulders are the last to appear and I think I look much more mage-y without them.

  2. I’m with Alyxx ~ I don’t know why they decided that all classes need to look like linebackers. It’s one thing for plate and mail, but the huge shoulders on priests and mages look silly, in my opinion.

    And since when do mages wear RED and GREEN? We’re blue and purple! The new PvP set looks more magey than this stuff. Horns? And chains? And bear claws? Oh my.

    There are some pretty nifty looking shoulders right now, though… sort of spidery and cool looking. I can’t remember which ones they are but I think they are one of the ICC sets.

Leave a Reply

