Cataclysm beta first experience

World of Warcraft Cataclysm logo

Image courtesy Blizzard

How did everything beta start with me? Well, I’ll tell you!

Step 1: Installation.

This took about a hundred million hours. Actually I went to bed at the three hour mark. At that time the thermometer was promising 50% completion—of that stage, and there were multiple stages so really that information was not especially useful.

If you get in the beta, I recommend not believing anything you see until you’re actually for-real ready to play. It’s going to take hours regardless of what you see.

Downloading the beta software itself didn’t take very long. The patches for the beta is what took fourever. I let the computer run overnight and by the morning everything had completed.

Step 2: Character creation.

I chose a server then jumped right into randomizing a worgen hunter. I didn’t take time to choose appearance or name or anything because I had to get ready for the day.

The intro movie played—but without audio and there was a minor glitch in the Gilnean wall as the camera flew by it. I see the mechanism for providing feedback but there wasn’t one for the intro movie, per se. I’ll have to investigate how to leave feedback on something that’s not a specific object.

Then I saw myself in the starting area, I looked left and right to make sure I was actually there, then I had to dash so logged off before I had a chance to really interact with the world.

Mastiff

I rolled up a hunter and I can verify that one does indeed get a mastiff pet at first level. His name is “unnamed” which suggests I’ll be able to name him. I didn’t have time to check out his abilities or anything, as I was terribly pressed for time.

Tomorrow: Screenshots! But do not fear, I am sensitive to spoilers and will post any that I would consider spoilery in such a way that they’re behind a link.

A word about spoilers

I’m not going to post walking tours of Gilneas or details of early quests or anything like that. I’m just going to give impressions, the odd screnshot, and when I have the opportunity, copy my main and see how she performs in the beta environment to get an understanding of what it’s like to be a mage in Cataclysm.

That’s my goal. I hope you’ll join me!

And of course if there’s anything in particular that you’d like to know about, do let me know and I’d be more than happy to find out for you!

🙂

About Administrator

Geek. (But so are you!)

Posted on July 7, 2010, in World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

