Patch 4.0.1 commentary

 

World of Warcraft Cataclysm logo

Image courtesy Blizzard

 

Let’s assume that the patch notes for 4.0.1 on the PTR (public test realms) are final enough to comment on (and it feels like a slow news day today anyway).

P.S. WoW hit 12,000,000 subscribers! Huzzah!

Anyway, let’s go!

Many class talents, spells, and abilities have been overhauled, added, or removed.

Indeed. It’s a massive restart. I don’t mind this, but what I do mind is potentially having to re-gem anything/everything. Gemming is a bit of a hassle because it takes, you know, research and stuff.

And it’s expensive.

All spell and ability tooltips will now display damage averages rather than minimum and maximum damage potential. This feature is on by default but can be changed via the Display settings under User Interface options.

That’s fine. I think most people who’re interested in such granular data are already using addons and/or separate programs like Rawr to more carefully analyze their data. Averages is fine for the average player.

Ammo has been removed from the game.

I have a hunter I haven’t played in forever, and I’m making one for Cataclysm, but even back in the day I found ammo to be a pain in the ass from just about every angle. It takes up bag space, it’s expensive, it’s un-fun.

And I’ve been in more than one raid where a hunter said he’d forgotten to stock up on ammo before coming. We all know other characters who need other things like that who’ve forgotten them—but they can still do things. A hunter without ammo is just about useless.

Glad that’s done away with forever.

The character levels at which classes gain new spells and abilities have changed.

This isn’t especially important unless you’re right in the middle of leveling now. For certain I’ll have to re-familiarize myself with all my alts.

Many item and class stats have been changed or removed.

Requiring re-gemming, I bet…

Rage has been normalized.

I’m fine not knowing what this means.

Spells and abilities no longer have multiple ranks and now scale with character level.

Christ, yes. Anything else is silly by now.

Talent trees have been altered. All player talent specializations have been reset, allowing for free re-specialization.

Much has been written on this topic already.

Death Knights: A dedicated tanking tree (Blood) has been implemented.

That’s the one I chose for my DK expressly to learn about tanking in Blood. Now I can settle down and actually start learning/experimenting/going into dungeons/&c.

Hunters: Five pets can now be stored with the hunter at all times. Any one of these five pets can be summoned via the Call Pet ability. Focus has replaced mana as a new resource. Hunters now start with a pet at level 1. The Stable will now store 20 pets.

All of these changes are very awesome. Approved.

Mages: There is now a new spell fly-out UI feature for mage portals. Clicking on the Teleport or Portal buttons will expand the list of choices available.

Um. OK. Not really that much of an issue. I only have Dalaran on my action bar as it is. My desire to go anywhere else is rare, and requests for anywhere else are rarer still, so I just open my spellbook when something different comes along.

Durability: cloth, leather, and mail now have as many points of durability as plate, making the repair cost on death much closer to equal for all classes.

Ugh. I thought repairs were expensive as it is. I’m not especially looking forward to this…

The glyph system has been updated to now feature three different types of glyphs. Many class glyphs have been added, altered, or moved to different glyph types.

That’s fine, kinda sorta neither here nor there, really. These’ll be set up once then forgotten.

Spell Alerts have been added to notify players when procs on select spells and abilities occur. A visual notification will display around the character and the activated ability will be highlighted on the action bar.

I’ll have to see this in action with my own character before opining, but…I guess this is good? I’m not really having particular trouble the way things are now.

My main concern is clutter on the screen.

The Professions panes now have more filtering and search functionality, as well as buttons to easily link recipes in the chat frame.

Really, the only thing I need is for guildmates to be able to look up what I can do, and that’s coming in the improved guild UI.

Many of the yellow System Messages that would display in the chat frame when leveling up have been removed.

Anything that reduces system spam—or any kind of spam—is a good thing.

New text animations now alert players as they level up, also providing information on when new talents, spells and abilities are available.

Very good for new players.

Professions and Class Trainers windows have been altered to more clearly display available and upcoming purchases.

Good.

With 4.0.1 on the PTR it’ll just be two shakes of a lamb’s tail before it’s live! Can’t wait!

About Administrator

Geek. (But so are you!)

Posted on October 7, 2010, in World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So far on the PTR I like the new Guild window. You now hit ‘J’ for the guild info. You’re able to display guild members by profession. No more “who’s a tailor?” spam. 🙂

    No more weapons skill levels. I don’t like where see “you can learn apprentice riding. see your trainer” but find out you don’t meet the level qualification when you get there. Unfortunately they took out the ‘Feedback’ button last PTR patch but 1 or I’d have put in a report. meh.

    New pre-Cat events. Elemental attacks in Stormwind every 1 or 2 hours. Elemental rifts drifting throughout Azeroth.

    I’ve played a new rogue through 13 levels and everything’s gone smooth. Re-specced my 80 Rogue but it was just a rough draft. I’ll look harder at the new talent trees before the patch.

    Bunch of minor things that look cool. New water effects. Raining and swimming look very good.

    anyway just a couple of things off the top of my head

Leave a Reply

