Daily Archives: July 8, 2011

Elusive Jadefang is elusive

Pic taken shortly before I sat down from the tireds.

Waiting for Jadefang

I hope those spiders don't come closer. Spiders are creepy.

I’ll get Jadefang eventually!

By the by, there’s a strategy for getting to Jadefang’s spawn point that’s safer and easier that turning off and on your internet connection repeatedly (a strategy suggested in forums).

It’s merely this: Get the daily quest from Picket that has you plant bombs to get crystals. You know the one.

Then, you know where Pebble is? Go to that tunnel then use your mount to jump onto the green menhir, as shown below…

Jadefang jump to green

Jump to here!

Then, face your back to Jadefang’s cave…

Jadefang's cave

Ready…steady…

Plant your Picket bomb and you’ll sail into the cave easy peasy!

PLUS! You can keep the bombs forever! And ever! Even after the quest ends for the day, even after a server reset. So you can try to visit Jadefang any time of the night or day without goofy backfiring tricks.

Now, if only Jadefang would join me…

At last, Firelands trash!

I was asked to fill in on a Firelands raid last night by someone who had to leave. It was in another guild—but my guildmaster was the one I was replacing so I trusted her judgement.

I came in for two or three attempts at Lord Rhylos or whatever his name is (the one with the turning legs) but other people in the raid had to leave so we concentrated on Firelands trash instead.

Firelands trash

Returning to the boss after a wipe

Much to my delight! This was my first experience in Firelands and, as you know, I needed to kill a Molten Lord to begin the Your Time Has Come quest.

Which, we did!

Thus, I reaped that reward right away…

Abethany and Anachronos

A pretty cut scene!

And I’m on my way! 😉

Handy Firelands tip o’ th’ Day: Charred Combatants

It’s obvious, but easily overlooked.

There are dailies in the Firelands that ask you to kill X fire-based monsters that’re cavorting amongst the Hyjal Defenders. The tip is merely this: Attack ones that are already being attacked by Hyjal Defenders. It matters not that the monsters will immediately attack you—they Hyjal Defenders will continue to fight, which helps the combat go more quickly.

Better still, if they’ve been whaling on the monster for a bit, you can start combat with the monster’s health at half or below and still get credit.

Hyjal Defenders fighting a Charred Vanquisher

Get 'im, boys and girls!

Excelsior!